Wasted Crises

Abhishek Paul
2 min readSep 28, 2018

--

Most of us by a certain time in life would have faced a few crises, be it accidents, illness, loss of a job, loss of a loved one, broken relationships, etc. I admire people who have managed to get their life back in order, though they may still carry the scars. Having gone through a couple myself, I always thought that passing through a period suffering would make me a much better person. Now I realize I was naive. While there is some change in perspective, I realize the tendency is to either drift back into life as before or worse continue to use past crises as an excuse to judge others (or) do less in life.

This came to light recently when I heard someone say they were grateful to have received a job offer in the midst of difficulty. I did not know this before and nothing in the person’s behaviour / performance showed that he was “grateful” (whatever that means).

Maybe I expected greater effort, dedication and a hunger to be shown at work, but what I saw was the opposite. In a horrible way, I felt like I was looking into a mirror. For me personally, I thought it a disgrace to the memory of the person I’ve lost. But rather than beat myself up, I am thankful for yet another reminder that those of us who have endured much have been greater strength and reason to do / be much more and not simply rejoin those who are coasting through a materially minded life.

Honour your suffering!

--

--