The Best Fights

Abhishek Paul
2 min readMar 28, 2019

--

A recent conversation with a martial arts instructor started with a simple question, “What’s the best way to fight?” His answer echoed the words of Jackie Chan (Mr Han from the Karate Kid) quoted above. Jackie’s own quote is inspired by Sun Tzu’s “Art of War” written in 5th century BC.

Having grown up on a diet of Bruce Lee and Schwarzenegger movies, I found this approach surprising (or wimpy, if I’m being honest). But having seen how quickly differences / misunderstandings can escalate, I’m growing to realize the value of this approach not just in physical confrontations, but verbal and emotional as well, .

The real question is what do I desire to accomplish by fighting (again not just physical). Do I want to prove how strong I am? Do I want to show up the other person / rub his face in his mistakes? Have I been hurt / upset and want to make the other person pay? Does my ego need feeding / protecting?

None of these are worth getting into a fight over. The best fights are most definitely the ones you avoid.

--

--