Human Touch

Abhishek Paul
2 min readOct 16, 2018

--

Girl ain’t no kindness in the face of strangers

Ain’t gonna find no miracles here

Well you can wait on your blessings but darlin’

I got a deal for you right here

I ain’t lookin’ for prayers or pity

I ain’t comin’ ‘round searchin’ for a crutch

I just want someone to talk to

And a little of that human touch

Just a little of that human touch

Ain’t no mercy on the streets of this town

Ain’t no bread from heavenly skies

Ain’t nobody drawin’ wine from this blood

It’s just you and me tonight

Tell me in a world without pity

Do you think what I’m askin’s too much?

I just want something to hold on to

And a little of that human touch

Human Touch by Bruce Springsteen (1992)

It’s quite strange how a simple act can brighten up your day. It could be the conductor who smiles and gives you change early in the morning (instead of complaining), the person who serves your morning coffee who asks how you’re doing with a genuine smile even if you don’t buy from him, the auto driver who shares how his days are better thanks to Ola (instead of complaining of the short distance I’ve hired him for).

I’m told we’re living in a fast paced world, a place where everyone is only looking out for what they can take and dismissive of people who cannot be of use. I tended towards cynicism.

But ordinary folks like these (are there really any ordinary people?) show me that there’s a better and kinder way of viewing life and people no matter what our situation is. It’s bloody difficult, but as Naval Ravikant put it so eloquently, “Cynicism is easy. Mimicry is easy. Optimistic contrarians are the rarest breed.

I choose to remain optimistic and hopefully spread a little of that human touch.

--

--